2018 Beta Gamma Sigma Induction Ceremony Held

Clark University’s Graduate School of Management (GSOM) inducted 44 students into Beta Gamma Sigma, the international honor society exclusively for business programs accredited by AACSB International – The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business – at a ceremony on May 17, on the college’s main campus.

Beta Gamma Sigma is a prestigious national honor society that recognizes and promotes scholarship in business. Membership is the highest recognition a business student can receive in a program accredited by AACSB International. Beta Gamma Sigma has just 500 collegiate chapters in the United States. To be eligible, students must be enrolled in a bachelor’s degree business administration program or the MBA, master’s in accounting, master’s in finance, or master’s in business analytics program. Only those ranked in the top 10 percent of the undergraduate/BA program, or the top 20 percent of a master’s program, are eligible for membership.

Clark students inducted include:

Undergraduate Juniors: Salma Shawa; Huy Le; Phat Tran; Brandon Lau Zelaya; Alisa Gelfand; Nana Akosua Larbi-Tieku

Undergraduate Seniors: Joshua DeMelo; Charlotte Donovan

Graduate Students: Yilun Zhang; Su Li; Vladislav Kiveliyk; Meghan Kelly; Pauline Jurasinski; Joyce Anne Dimaano; Elizabeth O’Toole; Vanessa Charles; Traci Veteto; Adrian Chaisson; Elizabeth Chmielewski; Mariami Iashagashvili; Lynne Miles; Kelly Rourke; Lucas Petricone-Berg; Matthew Woods; Nicole Raby; Zhikai Wan; Namisha Bhattarai; Ruoxi Han; Yumeng Hou; Bhisma Kandel; Fan Wu; Matthew Sullivan; Yuang Zhao; Jishun Wu; Mingjie Xu; Sixin Ding; Shengnan Luo; Hao Chen; Jingjie Shang; Wanting Huang; Yun Sun; Ruoxi Zheng

Second Recognition: Samuel Balian and Haley Smith

Associate Dean Barbara Bigelow presents the undergraduate management award to Joshua DeMelo.

Also honored for their leadership and service were three GSOM students, who received special recognition:

The William ’53 and Agnes Hausrath Leadership Award: Malina Joshi

The Morton H. ’51 and Vivian B. Sigel Endowed Fellowship Award: Fiona McDonnell

The Morton H. ’51 and Vivian B. Sigel Undergraduate Management Award recipient: Joshua DeMelo





GSOM’s Beta Gamma Sigma 2018 Chapter Honoree is tenured professor of accounting, Dr. Dileep Dhavale of Worcester. Dr. Dhavale has been serving the students of GSOM since his arrival in 1987. As a CPA and with numerous publications, honors, and awards to his name, Dr. Dhavale also acts as chair, reviewer, panelist and discussant in regional and national academic meetings of several management and accounting organizations. He is also a frequent speaker at local chapters of professional societies such as Institute of Management Accountants, American Production and Inventory Control Society, American Society for Quality Control.