Clark Model UN team continues to enjoy success with awards at conferences

From Left: Clark Model UN team members Dylan Sansone, Brian Diehl, Shane D’ Lima, Jake Kailey, Doga Bilgin, Mayya Abdullaeva, and Yohan Senarath with their UPMUNC awards.

Members of the Clark University Model UN team excelled at conferences, earning several individual awards at each competition.

At the UPenn Model UN Conference (UPMUNC), Nov. 8-11 in Philadelphia, Doga Bilgin ’16 won the title of Outstanding Delegate, Shane D’Lima ’14 and Jake Kailey ’14 received Honorable Mentions, and Mayya Abdullaeva ’13, Dylan Sansone ’14, Bryan Diehl ’14, and Yohan Senarath ’14 received Verbal Mentions.

From Oct. 25 to 28 the team was at the Georgetown National Collegiate Security Conference (NCSC), in Washington D.C., where Samer Nader Said ’13 and Michael Harper ’13 won the title of Best Delegate, Senarath received an Honorable Mention, and Nicholas Hyman ’13 received a Verbal Mention.

The Clark University Model UN team is supported by the Department of Political Science and the Clark University Student Council. Political Science Associate Professor Srini Sitaraman has been the team faculty adviser and instructor since fall 2003.

Earlier this fall semester and for the first time ever, Clark Model UN captured the Outstanding Small Delegation Team Award, at the Yale National Security Simulation2012 Conference.